FRA Education Foundation Announces 2014 Scholarship Recipients

The FRA Education Foundation proudly announces its scholarship recipients for 2014. Funded through private donations, corporate sponsorships, established trusts and the FRA, the Foundation will present $112,000 in scholarships to 24 deserving students who are pursuing their dreams of a college degree in the 2014–2015 academic year.

“We’re extremely proud of our scholarship program and our student recipients,” says Joe Barnes, past National Executive Director and Chairman of the Foundation’s Board of Directors. “Students from 11 states, ranging from young college students to active duty personnel and spouses, will benefit from these scholarships. Since 2000, we’ve disbursed more than $1.4 million in awards and we’re sincerely grateful for the substantial gifts that make it possible.”

More than 330 students applied for FRA’s annual scholarship program, in which recipients are selected based on financial need, academic standing, character and leadership qualities. Established in 2009, the FRA Education Foundation works to advance FRA’s long-standing tradition of helping students reach their educational and professional goals.

All current and former members of the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard are eligible to apply for Foundation scholarships, and members of the FRA, their spouses, children and grandchildren qualify for a broader range of awards, several of which are funded through member legacy donations. Applications for FRA’s 2015–2016 scholarships will be available at after September 1, 2014.

In the September 2014 issue of FRA Today, we will explore in depth the history, vision, and legacy of FRA’s Education Foundation and scholarship programs.

The recipients of FRA Education Foundation scholarship awards for 2014 are:

Glenn F. Glezen Scholarship ($5,000)

Jonathan Yong Kim, Auburndale, MA, Member, Branch 289

Robert W. Nolan Scholarship ($5,000)

Brittney Kay Rampley, Carrollton, GA, Member-at-Large

Joseph R. Baranski Scholarship ($5,000)

Cody Nicholas Minor, Fort Collins, CO

Fleet Reserve Association Awards ($5,000 each)

James Amos Manning, Riley, KS

Robert Buck Patenge, Litchfield, CT, Member-at-Large

Nicholas DePidio, Pine Hill, NJ

Christara Lynn Holtgrefe, Apple Valley, CA

Courtlyn Amber Hisey, Citrus Springs, FL

Christina Rose Breitenbuecher, Mill Valley, CA

Jacqulyn Ann Crossman, Chesapeake, VA

Christian James Dudukovich, Orlando, FL

Mary Catherine Carter, Owensboro, KY

Robert M. Treadwell Annual Scholarship ($5,000)

Sean Christopher Egan, Staten Island, NY

Stanley A. Doran Memorial Scholarship ($5,000)

Kyle Sterling Abernathy, Norfolk, NE

Colonel Hazel Benn Scholarship ($2,000 each)

Rebeca Cristine Griner, Folsom, CA

Victoria Elizabeth Ray, Burleson, TX

The Donald Bruce Pringle Family Scholarship ($5,000)

Brandon Michael Keel, Garland, TX

MCPO Ken E. Blair Scholarship ($5,000)

Samantha Kari Gray, Green Cove Springs, FL

Mercer Scholarship ($5,000)

Rebecca Jean Mixan, Glenwood, IA

PhrMA Scholarship ($5,000)

Bailey Jo Alvarez, Havelock, NC

GEICO Scholarship ($5,000 each)

Hannah Marie Hassert, Raleigh, NC

Brooklyn Synclair Penn, Noblesville, IN

HealthNet ($5,000)

Nicole Alexandria Heyl, Oriental, NC

Individual Contributions Scholarship ($3,000)

Luca Faustino Valle, Lebanon, NH

The FRA Education Foundation

The FRA Education Foundation provides academic scholarships to deserving students based on financial need, academic standing, and demonstrated leadership qualities. The Foundation is a Combined Federal Campaign-authorized charity and partners with military and education professionals to promote life-long learning opportunities that help scholars reach their educational, professional and personal goals. To learn more, visit or call 703-683-1400.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of FRA.

Latest News

Take Action

Legislative Issues